wghsrlFond du Lac, WI–Representatives from each team in the league gathered Sunday afternoon to complete the planning for the league’s 18th season.

Amanda Pohle (president), Kathleen Maloney (vice-president), McKenna Smith (secretary), and Michael Johnson (at-large) completed their terms in their respective positions. Before the elections, the position of vice-president was changed to president-elect.

After elections, the following people were elected to the following positions: Amanda Pohle (president), Barry Holloway (president-elect), Betsy Wendelberger (secretary), and Katie McNeil (at-large).

At the meeting it was revealed that Fox Valley and Brookfield did not have enough girls to field a team this season. Because of this, Fox Valley will join with Madison and Brookfield will join with Muskego/Vernon in order to compete this season.

Because of low numbers throughout the league, the league discussed creating a 7s league in the fall. That was rejected by the league because there was a fear that it would negatively affect 15s in Wisconsin. To help smaller teams, the league agreed that teams with larger numbers are expected loan players to their opposition, but that would result in a forfeit for the teams receiving the loaned players.

With the changes in teams, the divisions in the league have been realigned. One conference will include Divine Savior Holy Angels (Varsity), Pulaski, Hamilton RFC, Kettle Moraine, and Madison/Mayhem. The other conference will host Catholic Memorial, Stevens Point, Divine Savior Holy Angels (JV), Brookfield/Mayhem, and Oak Creek.

Currently, programs in Racine/Kenosha and Green Bay are considering creating a team in future seasons.

The league also brief discussed creating a State Rugby Organization (SRO), but that discussion was tabled for the spring meeting.

Hamilton’s detailed schedule for the 2018 season can be found here.

%d bloggers like this: